Finally some improvements! - Reisverslag uit Caracas, Venezuela van marianna - WaarBenJij.nu Finally some improvements! - Reisverslag uit Caracas, Venezuela van marianna - WaarBenJij.nu

Finally some improvements!

Door: Marianna

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

08 November 2005 | Venezuela, Caracas

Thanks for all your messages of support about Carla! And I promise, no more demonstrations. Irene and I will both send angry e-mails for Carla, as soon as I´ve left the clinic ;)

I´m happy to say that this week is already going a lot better than last week. I arrived at the clinic on Monday and was told that I had to go to the sister clinic in Coruco Viejo after all, which wasn´t the deal, so I was a bit annoyed at first. But it turned out to a good thing, because the vet I´m working with, Eliseth, is great. She´s really nice and clearly a better surgeon than Franklin. Yesterday, after watching how she does it, I castrated a male cat and sterilised a female one by myself (with her as my assistant) and today I did 3 female cats and 2 males. The first cat sterilisation went so well I couldn´t believe it. No problems at all, even Eliset was impressed with me! Yay!

Also I watched how she castrated a dog, hopefully I´ll get a chance to do it myself if we get any dogs but so far it´s almost all cats. The only thing is, here they sterilise the cats through their flank, not their belly as in Holland, so that´s the only way I´ve learned it. In some ways it´s easy than through the belly, but I think the scar looks ugly so I wouldn´t really want to use that method myself. But at least I know how to do it, if I ever have to. The dogs and cats are anesthetised with a combination of ketamine, atropine and xylazine, and kept knocked out with ketamine during the operation - no gas anesthesia.

So I´m staying until the end of the week. Irene and I are leaving for the mainland after that. It´s a shame I haven´t seen more of the island, but there are so many amazing things in the rest of the country, we already have a rough plan of things we want to see.

Apart from that we went out last Saturday night with Mike, an English friend of his called Justin and 2 Venezuelans that Justin knows. Of course we also met some Dutch people there... It was a great night! We went to a club called Kamy Beach, which is basically a huge beach hut next to the sea, so it was partly open air, and still lovely and warm at night. It´s a hard life ;) On Sunday we took it easy, I finally visited the beach opposite our hotel and Irene stayed in bed most of the day :p Yesterday evening we went to a big shopping centre in Pampatar, not far from here, for dinner and a look around the shops. Isla Margarita is THE place to shop, although at the shopping centre there were mainly designer names and posh boutiques, although we did find a place selling some nice affordable clothes, including nice Gap clothes - 6 euros for a t-shirt, yes please!

Oh yes, and if you´ve read Irene´s blog you´ll already know this, but apparently our hotel, which is a very nice, popular place with backpackers, is apparently used by the local prostitutes... I didn´t have a clue, but really you wouldn´t know it, it´s all very discrete! One of the girls who came to kamy Beach with us is apparently a prostitute, but she was such a lovely girl. And her name, believe it or not, was Jennifer Lopez!

Anyway I hope that´s comforted you all (especially my mother) - I´m safe and well and getting lots of work experience!

  • 10 November 2005 - 09:08

    Caterina:

    You se......I knew!!
    You are too strong to give up!
    Glad to know that it's much better now.
    Enjoy! Un bacione

  • 10 November 2005 - 21:58

    Iris:

    klinkt goed allemaal, lekker op het strand liggen, uitgaan, af en toe een kat steraliseren... wat een leven!
    Hier gaat alles rustig door. Heb net een brief gekregen over onze stofzuiger dat we toch echt schade hebben gemaakt die natúuuurlijk niet onder de garantie valt. Kan ik mij dus erg aan ergeren... Maar ja dit even ter illustratie zodat je met ons hier op de Ramstraat kunt meeleven en niet compleet in een ander wereld terug komt na al die exotische avonturen van je ;)groetjes

  • 11 November 2005 - 17:38

    Angela:

    Hey mary!
    Good work your castrations..and finally you had some castrations for yourself.You go girl!!So have fun still being on the island en later on while touring on the mainland!Greetings from me!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Venezuela, Caracas

Mijn eerste reis

Hier schrijf ik later misschien iets over mijzelf.

Recente Reisverslagen:

30 December 2005

Finished photos

21 December 2005

Back home

16 December 2005

Last few days

12 December 2005

On The One Happy Island!

06 December 2005

Last week in Venezuela!
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 892
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12408

Voorgaande reizen:

31 Oktober 2005 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: